Page 1 of 1

Broken ribbon menu starting from 11.5

Posted: Sat Jun 13, 2020 5:31 am
by Fixer
11.5 / 11.6 have broken ribbon menu.
Ribbon menu works only in 11.4

screencast with the issue:
https://youtu.be/jN1d6Vuz1EI

Re: Broken ribbon menu starting from 11.5

Posted: Mon Jun 29, 2020 4:27 pm
by DataMystic Support
Thanks, checking this out

Re: Broken ribbon menu starting from 11.5

Posted: Tue Jun 30, 2020 4:12 am
by DFH
I reported this by email to Simon on 2020-05-08.

Hi Simon,

Today whenever I first launch TextPipe, the ribbon at first displays blank.

See
https://www.dropbox.com/s/oindrpg9g0rjuw6/Screenshot%202020-05-08%2012.02.46.png?dl=0

If I resize the Window (or switch apps & back), it returns to normal.

Not sure why this happens, but it wasn't doing it before my last PC
reboot earlier today.

Best regards,

David

Re: Broken ribbon menu starting from 11.5

Posted: Tue Jun 30, 2020 4:15 am
by DFH
Simon replied on 2020-05-11 as follows:
Sorry, Windows 7 is EOL. Happy to investigate if it happens under Windows 10.
My reply to that was:
I’m quite aware that Win7 is EOL.

With the lockdown continuing, it may be some time before I buy a new PC.

My Toshiba laptop is 10 years old.
It’s not worth trying to install Win10.
It would be too risky.

Re: Broken ribbon menu starting from 11.5

Posted: Tue Jun 30, 2020 4:21 am
by DFH
My current workaround is to keep the ribbon minimised.

That seems to work satisfactorily and hides the annoyance caused by seeing a blank ribbon.

What we need to know is whether the issue is unique to Windows 7 or also happens in Windows 10 & Windows 8.2?

David

Re: Broken ribbon menu starting from 11.5

Posted: Tue Jun 30, 2020 9:30 am
by DataMystic Support
I believe is unique to Windows 7