Flush FIELD CONTENTS from one record to next

Get help with installation and running here.

Moderators: DataMystic Support, Moderators

Post Reply
eboughey
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2014 4:18 am

Flush FIELD CONTENTS from one record to next

Post by eboughey » Thu Mar 06, 2014 4:44 am

I noticed too late that when I converted my file that the information from the previous record was propogating to the next record if the field was empty in that record.

Is there any way to fix this issue? Each record is different and it doesn't always have info. This is particularly distressing since I'm using APR rates and financial information.

eboughey
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2014 4:18 am

Re: Flush FIELD CONTENTS from one record to next

Post by eboughey » Fri Mar 07, 2014 9:23 am

Isn't there anyone who knows how to do this? I can't imagine that you can't flush the field contents from the record after it's done so the next one starts with a clean slate.

User avatar
DataMystic Support
Site Admin
Posts: 2280
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2003 12:32 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: Flush FIELD CONTENTS from one record to next

Post by DataMystic Support » Tue Mar 11, 2014 12:39 pm

Hi - it depends how you do it.

If you use a search/replace, and capture data to a capture filter, then yes, you can clear the contents between records, if for example, you limit TextPipe to one line at a time (see Reestrict to line at a time). This is the best approach, because TextPipe streams the data and does not care about line or record breaks.

An alternative approach would be to use $1, $2 etc instead of named globals like @interest_rate@, @address1@ etc.

I believe a useful improvement would be for TextPipe to clear all named globals prior to a match. What do you think?
Regards,

Simon Carter, http://DataMystic.com/forums/index.php
http://PredictBGL.com - Insulin dose calculator for Type 1 diabetes
http://DownloadPipe.com - 250,000 free software downloads
http://DetachPipe.com - send huge email attachments

eboughey
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2014 4:18 am

Re: Flush FIELD CONTENTS from one record to next

Post by eboughey » Sat Sep 01, 2018 2:58 am

I haven't been using this software because I haven't been able to get this to flush the field contents. I have it set up to 'restrict each line in turn' but it's still keeping the values from the previous record into the next one if it's empty. It continues to put the values in until it encounters the next instance where it is populated. I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong here...

I'm still using an antiquated software called content extractor that I can only use on one old computer. Once I lose that I have no way to convert the data properly. This is how the raw data looks: Deal Number is the record break....

BUYER-NAME......... JAVA ***
STREET adress info
CITY CITY INFO

PAGE 21 12:36:53 29 AUG 2018

ST IL
ZIP 60008
PHONE 555-555-0555
SOLD 11MAR14
SALESMAN 7*4452
P/L P
SERIAL-NO 5XYKT000000000
TRADE1 LIEN HOLDER SANT
TRADE1 SERIAL NO. 2G1W000000000
N/U NEW
Car or Truck
YEAR 15
MAKE KIA
MODEL SORENT
VEHICLE-STOCK-NO... K3581
E-MAIL ADDRESS 1 JAVASWI.COM
M.S.R.P. 29,950.00
TERM 72
PMT-DTE 25APR14
PAYMENT 682.62
SALE COMM/DLR...... -3490.19

PAGE 22 12:36:53 29 AUG 2018

COMM ON SALE/DEALER -3490.19
COMM ON SALE/COMM 1 135.75
VEHICLE $ WE OWE SALE TOTAL 24,853.81
FINC-TOTL 33,644.83
APR 13.20
DEAL-NO 199

BUYER-NAME......... BRENDA CH
STREET address info
CITY KANKAKEE
ST IL
ZIP 60005
PHONE 815-555-0533
SOLD 28FEB15
SALESMAN 7*4705
P/L P
SERIAL-NO 5XYKT4A00000000
TRADE1 LIEN HOLDER
TRADE1 SERIAL NO.
N/U USED
Car or Truck

PAGE 23 12:36:53 29 AUG 2018

YEAR 13
MAKE KIA
MODEL SORENT
VEHICLE-STOCK-NO... TK4259
E-MAIL ADDRESS 1 MZBRENYAHOO.COM
TERM 72
PMT-DTE 14APR15
PAYMENT 506.99
SALE COMM/DLR...... 2408.21
COMM ON SALE/DEALER 2408.21
COMM ON SALE/COMM 1 402.05
VEHICLE $ WE OWE SALE TOTAL 18,500.00
FINC-TOTL 22,632.14
APR 17.00
DEAL-NO 22300

User avatar
DataMystic Support
Site Admin
Posts: 2280
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2003 12:32 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: Flush FIELD CONTENTS from one record to next

Post by DataMystic Support » Sat Sep 01, 2018 4:11 pm

So you're capturing values to a variable. Are you using the Capture filter, which allows you to clear values at the end of file or end of section?
Regards,

Simon Carter, http://DataMystic.com/forums/index.php
http://PredictBGL.com - Insulin dose calculator for Type 1 diabetes
http://DownloadPipe.com - 250,000 free software downloads
http://DetachPipe.com - send huge email attachments

Post Reply