Add column of text filter - doesn't insert captured variable

Get help with installation and running here.

Moderators: DataMystic Support, Moderators

Posts: 636
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 2:49 am
Location: UK

Add column of text filter - doesn't insert captured variable

Postby DFH » Thu Oct 25, 2012 4:55 am

The help for the Add column of text filter includes:
The right-click (or context) menu on this field supports Undo, Cut, Copy, Paste, Delete, Clear Entire Field, Select All and Select All And Copy, entering special characters and inserting macros and global variables.

This didn't work for me! Is this a new bug? My file was UTF-8 encoded.

cf. When I chose the alternative method using the Add Left Margin filter in order to insert the same captured variables, this worked OK.

btw. The help for the Capture text filter includes:
This filter captures text into a named global variable. Once captured, the variable's value can be output using macros with the filters Add Header/Footer, Add Left/Right Margin, Insert Column/Bytes.

The use of the word "Insert" here is a little inaccurate, seeing as the filter's name begins with "Add".
The word "/Bytes" is no longer part of the filter name either.


User avatar
DataMystic Support
Site Admin
Posts: 2139
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2003 12:32 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Add column of text filter - doesn't insert captured vari

Postby DataMystic Support » Fri Oct 26, 2012 8:33 am

Hi David,

On testing and checking this, it appears to work fine. Are you sure that you are capturing text correctly, and that it is not being overwritten with a blank value?

Attached is my test filter.

Capture text help fixed.

test macro expansion in add column, bytes,
(1.72 KiB) Downloaded 246 times

Simon Carter, - Insulin dose calculator for Type 1 diabetes - 250,000 free software downloads - send huge email attachments

Return to “TextPipe Tips and Tricks, Questions and Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests